Top 3 Broken/Flawed Games That Are Actually Fun

Although we live in a time where we have tonnes of near perfect games available there are some games that are just plain terrible, but still end up being weirdly fun. Here are 3 of my favourites.

NUMBER THREE: Sonic: Heroes

Developed by Sonic Team and published by SEGA, this game was released in 2003 for the PS2, GameCube, Xbox and PC. This game had awkward movement controls and some really dumb bugs, but despite this, I loved this game when I was younger. I remember fondly going through the game as if there weren’t any issues at all, but I knew there was way too many to ignore. Even today, I go back to this game and I’m like “This game is so broken, LETS CONTINUE PLAYING! :D”

NUMBER TWO: Sonic Boom: Rise of Lyric

Developed by Big Red Button and published by SEGA, this game was released in 2014 with more bugs than the other two games in this list combined. This game was also, not finished (As far as I can tell) some sections were removed just by blocking them off, but you could still get to them thanks to other bugs that were easy to exploit. Also, this game runs on CRYENGINE on the WiiU, which also makes the game lag a lot, or is it because its badly optimized? I’ll never know. This game also has some horrible writing and bad level design, to add to the heap of problems. Despite this, I love this game, its so terrible that to me, its a lot of fun. A lot of people do not share this opinion, however. Its so broken and bad its funny to me. so yeah 😛

NUMBER ONE: The Simpsons: Hit and run

This game was like GTA, but with the Simpsons, and with no weapons, and WAY BUGGIER! Developed by Radical Entertainment and published Vivendi universal games (And Sierra Entertainment in PAL regions) This game released in 2003 on PS2, GameCube, Xbox and PC with bugs o’ plenty on every platform. But this game has more than just bugs, it has bad game design. In the beginning of the game it seems like a pretty normal buggy game, but then the difficulty starts to increase as the game goes on. A lot of the missions are copy-pasted and re-skinned so its just like turning up the difficulty with every form of mission. At the end of the game your fighting against a brick wall of a mission. To avoid major spoilers, in the mission you drive a kinda hard to control car through Springfield. If you have an accident during this trip, you have to drive back to the start within a time limit. If that wasn’t enough, driving through to the end of the mission also has a strict time limit. You also have to avoid a few enemy cars along the way. To put it more simply, you have to perfect a mission, and fast. Although this game is pretty bland repetitive and unfair, I honestly love it. Playing this game for me at least was pretty fun.

Although I don’t recommend these games, I can at least say I had a lot of fun with them. If you thought I missed one of your favourite broken/flawed games be sure to tell me in the comments or via the G33k P0p Twitter and Facebook pages. Thanks for reading ^^

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

