Anime Review: Hourou Musuko

image

Hello ladies and gentlemen! Its time for another subbed anime review with Discordia! This time I am reviewing Hourou Musuko or as it is otherwise known Wandering Son. This may contain mild spoilers so be aware.

This is one of the most visually astonishing animes out there, all the art is in traditional painting style giving it a beautiful elegant design. The story is a real tear jerker as it follows Shuuichi Nitori who is a girl born male, it shows a deep respect for gender identity where some shows would make fun of the subject matter.  Yet this show does have some pretty big flaws.

I honestly found Wandering Son to be really depressing, I am not sure what it was but there is something about it that really sucks the joy out of it. I think that whilst it takes the subject matter seriously it means that the humour is almost non existent. Also sometimes I found it hard to keep track of the characters because of the varied cast.

image
Nitori as a girl in public

I watch a LOT of anime and whilst I find shows that joke about gender to be funny and entertaining (Example: Yamada-Kun & The Seven Witches) I found it honestly refreshing to watch something that didn’t mock non-binary genders and was still funny and enjoyable. Sometimes the show feels really dragged out and I think that it really didn’t need all 12 episodes to tell the story, yet the varied subplots kind of make it better. The voice acting is very good although considering I only speak a tiny bit of Japanese I really shouldn’t be commenting on this, but it SEEMS very good.

image
As I mentioned before, the art is amazing

I really liked this anime but it could have been better, the art was stunning and the writing was amazing. It was respectful and funny making Wandering Son an emotional rollercoaster full of heart, well worth a watch. I give this a solid 7/10. Due to technical problems this review took ages to make but this has been fixed and so this delay shouldn’t happen again. This show is on Crunchyroll to stream for free, so you have no excuse for not watching it. For more anime reviews and content keep it G33k!

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

