Guest Post: Subbed VS Dubbed by Animereviewergirl

Hi guys, so today we have a guest post for you from the super talented Animereviewergirl!

Sub Vs Dub
First I just want to say thank you to Discordia at G33k P0p for the opportunity on being a guest writer for an opinion piece on their blog. It’s a great opportunity and I couldn’t have asked for a better opportunity. 
So this has been an ongoing debate for as long as I can remember. I’ve had a few conversations about this topic with a few different anime fans and sometimes it goes to a stalemate and sometime it can become a full on argument. This conversation I’m talking about is the notorious sub vs dub.
My own opinion on this topic is that I honestly appreciate both. I love the Japanese voices and I like the English ones when they are dubbed. Although for the English version there is some criteria that I do look for before I watch it. Those are who is in it and what company has the show. So for example Viz Media or Funimation. Generally I go by that before I watch a dub but this doesn’t always hinder me either.
There are a few shows where I preferred the Japanese over the English and a few examples are Attack On Titan and Sword Art Online. This thought could be largely due to the fact that I watched them in Japanese first do hearing the English dub was just plain weird. 
But there are instances where I found the dub better than the Japanese. For example Beck Mongolian Chop Squad, Ouran High School Host Club, and Full Metal Alchemist just to name a few. 
I think both styles have something unique to it and I don’t think one is better than the other. It’s honestly just based off what you prefer to hear in that point and time and also just what you are used to. Or in my case if your just too lazy to read the subtitles hehe.
But that is my honest opinion and I would love to hear what yours is on this topic so comment down below.
Also once again a big thank you to Discordia at G33k P0p for allowing me the opportunity to be a guest writer on their blog! 

~Anime Reviewer Girl! 

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

