Top 5 Most Overpowered Overwatch Characters

So as G33k P0p’s resident Overwatch nerd today I’ll be writing about the Top 5 Most Overpowered Overwatch Characters, that in my opinion, and in the opinion of people I know, need a nerf.

At number 5 I would have to say Roadhog, because I’m one of those players who’s fallen prey to his hook in almost every time the enemy has had a Roadhog on their team. While, being a tank he needs to have insanely high amounts of health and due to his lack of any means to block damage he needs a high amount of damage. But his hook is very easy to get the hang of, and for any non-tank hero, even stronger offense/defence heroes like Bastion and Reaper, getting hook can mean a guaranteed death in most scenarios.

roadhog-screenshot-004

At number 4, despite him being one of my favourites, I would have to say Genji. Genji is very difficult to master (trust me I know), but in the right hands a Genji can rank up a lot of damage and eliminations, while also being very hard to hit because of his mobility and deflect ability. Proof of this is especially seen within the E-sports scene, where we can see complete team wipes in seconds with Genji’s ultimate ability, and a lot of damage being done with the shuriken attacks.

genji-screenshot-003

My number 3 pick, would be the cliché, Bastion. Playing as my other mains, Genji and Tracer, I don’t normally have trouble against bastions, but recently deciding to main Reinhardt too brought back my hatred for Bastion. A Reinhardt shield can be melted by a Bastion in turret configuration, and against other short range classes like Mei, D.Va and Reaper, Bastion can still be a very big problem even in higher level play.

bastion-screenshot-004

Number 2 on my list would be Torbjorn. Despite me seeing fewer Torbjorns in quick and competitive play, a hard to reach turret spot can mean decimating an entire team, making attacks very difficult. Combining Torbjorn’s very quickly-charging Molten Core, this can mean that a turret can become a one man army for any defensive team, because of it’s very few counters.

torbjorn-screenshot-007

Finally, number one of my list of the Top 5 Most Overpowered Characters in Overwatch, is the bundle of fun (hell), Mei. As of yet, if you asked me to name an Overwatch character and their counter, I could do it for most of them, for example: Genji counters Bastion, Winston counters Genji, Reaper counters Winston and so on. But I’ve had trouble naming a counter to Mei. Of course, a long range hero such as Soldier 76 or Widowmaker could pick off Mei easily, but if you want to get up close and deal some more damage, Mei can easily freeze you, pick you off and carry on. While Mei has a shorter range than most heroes, the fact that she can freeze you very quickly no matter how close you are to her also makes her able to kill faster heroes like Tracer, Genji and Lucio. She can be very useful in the right hands like almost every other hero, but in my opinion she needs a nerf more so than other heroes that are being nerfed at the moment. (Rest in peace Lucio).

mei-screenshot-003

Thank you for reading my Top 5 Most Overpowered Overwatch Characters, if you agree/disagree with me tell me in the comments below, I’d be happy to hear what you all have to say.

Sources:

https://playoverwatch.com/en-us/heroes/roadhog/

https://playoverwatch.com/en-us/heroes/genji/

https://playoverwatch.com/en-us/heroes/bastion/

https://playoverwatch.com/en-us/heroes/torbjorn/

https://playoverwatch.com/en-us/heroes/mei/

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

